How can I upgrade from 2.X to 5.X in Visual Studio Professional 2019 ?

How can I upgrade from 2.X to 5.X in Visual Studio Professional 2019 ?

Can tell more details step by step? I am a novice.
    Thank you so much.
    Hello @Kerry!

First you'd need to upgrade thye NuGet Packages references. You can use Visual Studio 2019 "NuGet Package Manager dialog" for that. Basically, the Newtonsoft.Json and Ext.NET (or Ext.NET MVC) packages should be updated to their latest.

Then, inevitably some breaking changes might happen in the pages. There can be as much code you should update as you have gone "beyond defaults" in your project.

For instance, if you only use simple Grid Panels with mostly Ext.NET specifications (server-side) and few (or no) custom JavaScript (client-side) code, most of the code you'd need to update will promptly be pointed by intellisense as you let Visual Studio re-evaluate the files you open on screen.

On the other hand, if you heavily changed components' behavior via client-side extensions, overrides, or custom handlers, you'd have to fully build (solving the server-side syntax changes) and then hands-on debugger to the pages. Usually browser's developer tools (f12) can help you with most (if not all) troubles you could find there.

But then, only in a case-by-case basis you can evaluate what every individual page will need of changes (if any) to ensure they are fully upgrade to Ext.NET 5.

Unfortunately we are talking about years of development so breaking changes will be there. How difficult it is going to be really depends how deep on customization your solution went with Ext.NET 2.x.

Hope this helps!
    Fabrício Murta
    Developer & Support Expert

Thanks for reply.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a1.JPG 
Views:	59 
Size:	63.2 KB 
ID:	25365

I already install ext.net, but can't get the ext.net tools in toolbox. What did I miss or what can I do now?
    Thank again.
    Hello @Kerry!