Getting Started Basic Example

Getting Started Basic Example

Hi to all,

I am new to ExtJS, but familiar with ASP.NET development and Web Services.

I am refering to this example on the home page:

<h3>Getting Started Basic Example</h3>

The following code sample demonstrates a simple AjaxMethod returning a string to the client.</p>

Example</p>[AjaxMethod]
        public string SayHello(string text)
        {
            return "Hello " + text;
        }

Once the "SayHello" Method has been tagged with the [AjaxMethod] Attribute, the Method is now available to be called directly from JavaScript. The following sample demonstrates calling "SayHello" by clicking a hyperlink.</p>

Example</p><a href="#" &#111;nclick="Coolite.AjaxMethods.SayHello('World')">Click Me</a>
    I am a bit confused here.

I need to know:

1. where exactly I will define the Web Service ? i mean, should create a new web service just like any other web service, or I have to follow certain steps to create such web service within the cotext of this framework (coolite/ExtJS) ?

2. How to define the path to the web service from the calling client (ASP.Net Page).

Appreciate your help.

Tarek.

RE: Getting Started Basic Example

I'm not using AjaxMethods but as far as I know they are defined in code-behind file for aspx page.
    Method must have [AjaxMethod] attribute to call it from handler.
    There is no webservice needed.

Thanks Raku.

Yes, I think it is clear to me how it worke now. I have looked again over the source code of the other examples, and it really great. I understand now exactly how it works.

It seems very easy and brilliant also ... can't really be easier. Much much easier than the concept of a web service.

When comparing AjaxMethods with a web services, the latter will look very complicated.

Just to clarify the following:

1. Do I need to install .NET Framework 3.5 to start developing and using ExtJS for ASP.NET ?