PDA

View Full Version : [CLOSED] Html Editor bug



Akpenob
Jun 24, 2013, 9:30 AM
Hello support

I think there is a bug in the html editor component.

When you type somthing in the edit at the first line

it automaticly sets in a <p></p> around the first line and its move down

But the error is that the text get doublicated and the entered text is in editor twice see the images for a better understanding.

We are using the release version of 2.2 and not trunk.


Ex. code to reproduce is here




<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="Demo.aspx.cs" Inherits="LIA.APP.WEB.LinkItAll.Demo" %>

<%@ Register Assembly="Ext.Net" Namespace="Ext.Net" TagPrefix="ext" %>
<!DOCTYPE html>

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head runat="server">
<title></title>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<ext:ResourceManager ID="ResourceManager1" runat="server" ViewStateMode="Disabled"
EnableViewState="false" />
<div>
<ext:Window runat="server" ID="wndDemo" Title="Html Editor Demo" Layout="FitLayout">
<Items>
<ext:Panel ID="pnlBody" runat="server" Layout="FitLayout">
<Items>
<ext:HtmlEditor runat="server"></ext:HtmlEditor>
</Items>
</ext:Panel>
</Items>
</ext:Window>
</div>
</form>
</body>
</html>

Daniil
Jun 24, 2013, 1:34 PM
Hi @Akpenob,

I cannot reproduce. Please describe detailed steps. Also I might be reproducible in IE only (what version?). Could you confirm it trying to reproduce in. for example, FireFox and Chrome?

Akpenob
Jun 24, 2013, 1:51 PM
Hi @Akpenob,

I cannot reproduce. Please describe detailed steps. Also I might be reproducible in IE only (what version?). Could you confirm it trying to reproduce in. for example, FireFox and Chrome?

Hi @Danill

I have just tested it in several different browsers and it seems that i can only reproduce the error in IE

My version of IE is currently 10.0.9200.16618

I have tested in..
- Chrome
- Firefox
- Opera
- Safari
- IE

All above are fine except IE and do not make the same error "bug"

To reproduce the error do as following

Step 1.

Open a brand new html edtor ("my above code does this")

Type in some random text of choise and then push enter.

After this the error should apeare as the image that i have uploaded.

I might not have mention it, but its only on the first line in the htmleditor it makes the error, everything else is as excepted..

:-)

UPDATE..!!!

i have upload a image to demostraite what the source code is when you have entered the text and pushed enter

UPDATE UPDATE...!!

There seems to be a difference in the html code that editor produces depending on what browser you use, dont know if its related, but for the sake of this post i have uploaded an image thats shows the difference

Hope this helps

Regards

Akpenob

Daniil
Jun 24, 2013, 3:59 PM
Thank you for the details.

Unfortunately, that behavior is out of our control (neither Ext.NET or ExtJS). An HtmlEditor uses on iframe in edit mode which is totally under browser control. In some cases workarounds are possible, but they are very quirky and, again, not possible in all the cases.

If you need more solid HTML editor, you might need to use another one, for example:
http://ckeditor.com/

Akpenob
Jun 25, 2013, 6:51 AM
Thank you for the details.

Unfortunately, that behavior is out of our control (neither Ext.NET or ExtJS).



No need :-)
The html editor incoorporated in Ext.Net / ExtJS suit us very fine :-)

OT:

Any idea what to do about the doublicated text in the editor..?

Regards

Akpenob

Daniil
Jun 25, 2013, 12:06 PM
Any idea what to do about the doublicated text in the editor..?

Well, I cannot reproduce duplicating of text, but I can reproduce adding

<p>&nbsp;</p>
for a new line, i.e. on Enter.

It is how IE behaves. Unfortunately, we cannot affect on that.