PDA

View Full Version : [CLOSED] Generic question of problem on WIFI



feanor91
Nov 22, 2012, 12:26 PM
Hello

It is not a problem related to Ext.NEt, but I post in several forum to try to get answer, so why not here?

Is someone already have an application working well on wired network, but when on WIFI network, receive "Error 400 BAD REQUEST" from the server?

Same computer, same web server, wired workked, WIFI not?

If yes, WTF I have to do to make it work, because my level 3 assistance sent me back mith my panty down.

RCN
Nov 22, 2012, 1:12 PM
Can you turn off the existing firewalls, lower the security level of the connection and retest?

feanor91
Nov 22, 2012, 1:41 PM
No, I'm in a international structure with no access to those kind of things, I have only action on my code and IIS server (if I know what to configure in it)
As I can't put a tool on server to anlyse ethernet frame to see what it really receive when I send requests.

Daniil
Nov 22, 2012, 2:22 PM
Hi all,

I would also thoroughly compare a working request and its not working counterpart. Is there any difference?

feanor91
Nov 22, 2012, 2:35 PM
no of course, application is on server, run through browser, on same computer, wired ok, wifi nok. Besides that crash (well, error message) occurs when application start, desktop begin to load and bam!
I test several browsers: same

Daniil
Nov 23, 2012, 4:39 AM
Please clarify what tool did you use to analyze the requests?

Generally speaking, I agree with Raphael - it looks to be a Firewall and/or a permission access.

I would review IIS logs at first.

feanor91
Nov 23, 2012, 4:59 AM
Thats the point, I have no way to analyse what hapened during request is traveling through network. my field of action is only the software, I can make what I want in my soft but thats all, I have no way to act as an network administrator.

Is there a way to see someting in IIS log and if yes what kind of thing I have to search for.

Daniil
Nov 23, 2012, 11:07 AM
Is there a way to see someting in IIS log and if yes what kind of thing I have to search for.

Well, if you have no access to the IIS, then, I do not think it is possible to see the log.

RCN
Nov 23, 2012, 11:10 AM
Can you accurately describe your scenario? Client, server, location, etc?

RCN
Nov 23, 2012, 11:15 AM
I think it would be also interesting you use a network sniffer:


http://www.effetech.com/sniffer/
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/http_network_sniffer.html
http://download.cnet.com/Free-HTTP-Sniffer/3000-2381_4-10789181.html
http://www.cleanersoft.com/sniffer/free_http_sniffer.htm

If there is no difference on the packages - what i think that there isn't - i am 99% sure that it's a firewall and/or a permission issue.

feanor91
Nov 23, 2012, 11:17 AM
Well, if you have no access to the IIS, then, I do not think it is possible to see the log.

No, I said upward I could have access to IIS, what I haven't is equipment on the network (router, firewalls...)


Can you accurately describe your scenario? Client, server, location, etc?

Server location is in Sydney it runs IIS 6.5

Clients are all around the world : Europe, USA, Australia, China...Me I'm in Paris

But I'm not sure it didn't work for other countries. Recently a change of WIFI network occurs (don't know exactly what) and since I have problem. For example, from my home through my own wifi access and through the VPN of the society, all works fine (test from an hostel access too), so it is really something linked to internal (enterprise) wifi network

feanor91
Nov 23, 2012, 11:25 AM
I think it would be also interesting you use a network sniffer:


http://www.effetech.com/sniffer/
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/http_network_sniffer.html
http://download.cnet.com/Free-HTTP-Sniffer/3000-2381_4-10789181.html
http://www.cleanersoft.com/sniffer/free_http_sniffer.htm

If there is no difference on the packages - what i think that there isn't - i am 99% sure that it's a firewall and/or a permission issue.

Thanks. I suppose that I have to setup server side ro see what arrive. i must put it client side too (not very aware of that tools)?

RCN
Nov 23, 2012, 11:28 AM
yes, both client and server

feanor91
Nov 23, 2012, 11:43 AM
OK, I will try to dig into.

RCN
Nov 23, 2012, 11:59 AM
Please keep us posted

feanor91
Nov 23, 2012, 12:05 PM
Of course, but I will have to found some time to do it. As says the othert: I'll be back. By the way, many thanks for your help.

RCN
Nov 23, 2012, 12:24 PM
You're welcome