Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Firefox Ajax limit of 4096?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vermont,USA
    Posts
    31

    Firefox Ajax limit of 4096?

    Hi Everyone,

    Perhaps this is something easy, but I haven't been able to find an answer yet. My site is looking good with IE, however, in Firefox, when I make some simple Ajax Web Service calls for some HTML content, they are successful but limited to 4096 characters...whereas IE is unaffected. FF truncates my content to 4096. When I look at Firebug, it appears as though the full text/html content is coming back to the client, so maybe it's the coolite method "selectValue"?

    Code:
    
    
    function onUpdateNewsFeedsSuccess(result)
    
    
    {
    
    
    
    var strResult=Ext.DomQuery.selectValue("string", result, "");
    
    
    alert(strResult.length);
    
    
    if (strResult!=""){
    
    
    var elem;
    
    
    if (strResult.indexOf("|~|")!=-1)
    
    
    {
    
    
    var resultParts = strResult.split("|~|");
    var sentMode = resultParts[0];
    var content = resultParts[1];
    
    
    
    
    
    if (sentMode.toUpperCase()==activeMode.toUpperCase())
    {
    
    
    var newsFeedsPanel = Ext.getCmp("ctl00_MainContentPlaceHolder_NewsFeedsTab");
    
    
    newsFeedsPanel.getBody().update(content);
    
    
    
    
    
    }}
    
    
    }
    }
    }
    }

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vermont,USA
    Posts
    31

    RE: Firefox Ajax limit of 4096?

    Yeah, it seems like a bug with


    Ext.DomQuery.selectValue

    Firefox and IE seem to return different xml structures, so when you call the selectValue method to retreive the text/xml content, it must not be retrieving the correct node item from the XML document. This is just a guess for now until someone from the coolite team confirms...

    Dan

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vermont,USA
    Posts
    31

    RE: Firefox Ajax limit of 4096?

    I created a JS function to handle the "result" from the web service ajax call...which works in both FF and IE...

    just call that instead of...




    var strResult=Ext.DomQuery.selectValue("string", result, "");
    Code:
    
    
    function getWebSvcString(result)
    
    
    {
    
    
    var strResult="";
    
    
    var stringElement = result.getElementsByTagName("string")[0];
    
    
    
    
    
    if (stringElement.text!=null && stringElement!=undefined){
    
    
    strResult=stringElement.text;
    
    
    // alert("IE: "+strResult.length);
    
    
    }
    
    
    else if (stringElement.textContent!=null && stringElement.textContent!=undefined)
    
    
    {
    
    
    strResult=stringElement.textContent;
    
    
    // alert("FF: "+strResult.length);
    
    
    }
    
    
    
    
    
    return strResult;
    
    
    }

Similar Threads

  1. Characters limit in TextField
    By flaviodamaia in forum 1.x Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 25, 2012, 2:30 AM
  2. Limit of a Multiselect
    By ddolan in forum 1.x Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Jun 02, 2011, 8:45 PM
  3. Limit a Dataview
    By walle in forum 1.x Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 06, 2010, 6:04 PM
  4. FileUploadField has limit ???
    By Puia in forum 1.x Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 01, 2010, 4:02 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: Feb 11, 2010, 5:26 PM

Posting Permissions